Sorry. It is you, not me.

Oluwapelumi Olorundare
Poetry Publication
Published in
1 min readFeb 7, 2024
Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

I’m not that person.

Yes, I’m sorry you are disappointed in me,

You don’t want to speak to me,

It’s okay.

I’m just not that person.

It’s not my fault you built me up in your mind.

It was your castle in the air, not mine.

I am sorry, truly I am.

You say you love me, I believe it.

Its not my fault who you loved isn’t me.

I’m not hiding. I’m not scared.

You just chose to see that side of me.

You call me proud, I’m just honest.

You think me cruel, I think me benevolent.

When it’s over, you will be glad.

Sorry, I hurt you that way.

It wasn’t my intention, not now or ever.

I can’t say the line “It’s not you, it’s me”.

Because sorry to say it’s you, not me.

You made me up.

You decided who I was.

You didn’t hope,

You were sure I was that person.

But it’s over now.

Let’s see if there are pieces to pick.

If not, we toss it.

Sorry, it’s still not me, it’s you.

Hello reader. I would love to hear from you. Don’t hesitate to comment.

Cheers!

--

--

Oluwapelumi Olorundare
Poetry Publication

I'm simple and willing to learn. A child at heart with a love of books, computers and the world. Want to reach out to me- darepelumi0909@gmail.com