Souls of Poets

Sunny X. Alexander
1 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Photograph generated by author using DALL:E by OpenAI

She toils

With a ball of yarn and an image in her head

She plays with the idea of creation

It dances and swirls all through her days

Unable to determine real or imagination

She takes every breath like it’s her last

And wishes to be forgotten

Yet she can’t be lost within my dreams

Where she lets me spoil her rotten

Her day is here, her time is now

And she stands only where she is

On mounds of brick carved from the dirt

As she prepares for her nightly quiz

”What have I done today for which I am proud?”

“What have I done today for which I’ll be dreaming?”

“What have I done today for which I am remembered?”

“What have I done today that gives my life meaning?”

As she rests her head to fall asleep

My dreams won’t let her go

Because the questions she asks about her day

Give me a reason to say, I know

I know you are mine

I know I am yours

And I know we share the same soul

Thank you for reading! Click here receive email notifications for my posts.

--

--

Sunny X. Alexander

Writing about growing pains, beautiful sunsets, and love letters from another life.