The ‘I’

Poem

S h a y
Poetry Publication
1 min readDec 11, 2023

--

I don’t know who I am tonight

I came back from a wrong step

Carrying the exhaustion of the whole road with me

Up on the shelf, sorrows have piled

I don’t know which one to narrate

Which one will get me fed up with me

Curtains drawn closed in every chamber of my soul

You hand me your jacket, but the winter is in my heart

In silence, in letting things fold

I tore all that is left in me apart

These mirrors that criticize what they see

Would shatter if only they could sympathize

I am not who I meant to be

Or else, why can’t my eyes be satisfied?

I know the days that took away my dedication

A faded past I couldn’t survive

I fear sitting with myself; we have obligations

And I am cruelest to let myself sleep tonight

Only if everything I cry leaves me forever

To calm down and have things equal in my eyes

But I close them, and the scene doesn’t get better

And all my promises to love the ‘I’ were lies

--

--