The State of Nigeria

A dead country in decadence

Dominic Onyeji
Poetry Publication
1 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

Photo created by the author using PowerPoin

Africa wept when Nigeria was down.
Soyinka said it by using the term, clinical.
He said it wisely in his Elegy for a Nation.
The use of the term clinical was ironical.

I had wanted to prove him wrong,
But I saw that it was wrong to do so.
Soyinka had been a guru for so long.
A man like him was a cultivated hero.

Eyes saw Nigeria crying in the downhill.
Excesses threatened her in the jungle.
The lack of help gave her to end up in hell.
Nigerians are like ghosts in eyes of people.

Soyinka wrote a poem to Achebe, his friend
He said it with wisdom that Nigeria was dead.

--

--

Dominic Onyeji
Poetry Publication

I am a Nigerian contractor. Writing is my calling. I bear philosophic pen power, serving as an explicator, poet and songwriter. https://sweet.pub/@onyeji.dsage