And again, and again

Camille McCall
Rainbow Salad
Published in
Jan 30, 2022
Photo by Immo Wegmann | Unsplash

You must have come from my dreams

in the night, mildly cool with a warm summer breeze

I stand peering over my balcony, hand to the cliff

of my eyebrows as your breath captures

meditations of my heart

I am thrown in your direction,

you resemble the freedom of the ocean’s delta

treading behind, sweet seashells

an aroma that lures me, beautiful

under crescent moons, perfect

trail of sand you leave behind, markings of a prince,

royal trinket, golden amour, against my skin

I can feel it,

and again,

and again,

I question

if you are but a dream

my eyes squint

come

I whisper, waiting for the night to wake me

then you answer, your voice,

something like a whale’s melody.

--

--

Camille McCall
Rainbow Salad

I write stuff. Sometimes it rhymes, sometimes it doesn’t | Isaiah 43:3–4 | PhD | Dog mom | Tea lover, nature gazer