Anger

A Poem

Emma Bragdon
Rainbow Salad
Aug 26, 2023

--

Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Anger is a secondary emotion
At least, that’s what they say
Anger is a mask we wear
To push our feelings far away

Anger is a coping tool
Though unhealthy, I’ll admit
We slam our doors and swear real loud
We scream, we cry, we hit

I don’t want to feel my sadness
I just want to get through the day
I wear my anger like a shield
I’ve had enough, I storm away

I can’t see into the future
And this scares me quite a lot
But fear is such a tricky mood
Anger is safer, and fiery hot

My anger makes me tired
There’s a bully in my brain
It screams at her, and him, and me
Until all that’s left is shame.

--

--

Emma Bragdon
Rainbow Salad

A lesbian liberal in Northern Maine trying to explore the world and make it make sense through the art of words.