At the dawning of each new day

Includes monthly prompt for January

Sadie Seroxcat
Rainbow Salad

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

And there I sat, at the dawn of a new day,
A world of possibilities at my feet,
A destiny as yet unmade,
Reaching forward to the misty dream,
Imagining the future yet to come.
But no, look there the road diverts,
Divides, like streams and rivers flow.

Obscured and obscure, each step reframes,
The possible view unfolding,
Each one both false and true,
The path is fresh not fully carved,
Full of potential to branch off
The future like an spreading oak or
The veins in which our blood goes.

Their creation dependent upon my choices,
Each faltering step that’s taken forward,
Yet fearfully I flounder,
Will I make those choices wisely,
Have I made enough mistakes to know,
To now have learned the way,
To paths like a rich delta grow?

The Prompt

--

--

Sadie Seroxcat
Rainbow Salad

Essays & Poetry. Chronic illness. Mental Health. Literature. Boost Nominator. 'Counter Arts', ‘Rainbow Salad’ & 'Seroxcat's Salon' sadie.seroxcat@googlemail.com