Being We for Us

Kehinde Margret Makinde
Rainbow Salad
Published in
2 min readMar 2, 2024
Canva: https://www.canva.com/design/DAF-Ld2dIJw/Vp-pd0uGQmTXA6K9VvTiJg/view?utm_content=DAF-Ld2dIJw&utm_campaign=designshare&utm_medium=link&utm_source=editor

Description: Yesterday, February 28, was my birthday. In the center of the hours’ work that has shaped the prism of the years I have lived, since I and my Maker share a symbiotic relationship of ask and tell.

I and my Maker have come a long way in this relationship of constant repairs, and we have become both noun and verb. I am sure of this even on my bad days, during scary stages, through unfamiliar corridors, emergency doors, and the ache of being a lover.

Now seek to find my course and purpose within the darkest dark, amidst still silence, flipping doors, and stairways with no stairs in those there are sure and novel. I know my Maker will be there watch all I have soft spots for, while I be the me He molded me for.

God, in my worship, I thank You,
with hope that my gratitude

will be sweet, creative and precise

as our communion

in the culinary arts’ office
where You coached me
on the power, passion, and roles
of seasonings, spices,

and nourishment.

I know there is You and me,
in You being you and me being me,
You chose to be You,
for the sake of me.

In all You do,
none is a tale or fantasy.
Your beats in my narration,
never lose their vigor and breathe.

To the best of my cognition
and consciousness,
You have made me,
to receive me and coach me,
on how to be me
for the same course for You.

I hope I still sail, stir,

seek, sprint, and soar
for the fulfilment
of being who You are for me
as I heartily gesticulate my gratitude,
being me for You.

--

--

Kehinde Margret Makinde
Rainbow Salad

A complex soul, academic writer, and artist at heart with fine deem from distinct outlook; zeal's veer; and events to proof stir of gifts, love, and vision