Bitter-sweet summer…

A poem

Jessica M
Rainbow Salad
Oct 16, 2023

--

Photo by Wander Fleur on Unsplash

It was 11 o’clock when I felt the cruel cry fall from your lips,
like conserve churned from crimson strawberries.
I was a marigold, but you plucked my petals and left me
rotting under the sweltering summer heat. Sun-dried, dehydrated-
reliant on the nectar that you gave to me. Promises soaked
bitter-sweet, with juices squeezed from orange trees.
Then in the midst of the wild unrelenting fire-
I sung wistfully and the sting of your words fizzled out-
the match met the sea.

Thank you for reading my poem. If you enjoyed my writing, I would be very grateful if you could interact or if you’re interested I have written several other poems:

--

--

Jessica M
Rainbow Salad

Cat fosterer/ mental health advocate/ spiritual / creative / Autistic Expressing myself and my experiences through poetry /