Can A Person Scream In Silence?

A Poem I heard in the night

cindee D Renee
Rainbow Salad
Mar 24, 2024

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I heard her last night
From a nightmare awaken
After a dream conquered
She screamed
She held the note so strong
Through the dark distant night
I’m left to wonder
What was she thinking
What was she was hiding
Who was she fighting
At the top of her lungs
Screaming

Photo by Santiago Lacarta on Unsplash

Lady bird screaming to sing
Notes hanging in the melody
On the stomp which she perches
A mate she’s calling
For a duet of everlasting love
Not just another bird in her flock
A special whispering shout I heard her perish
In a symposium of sounds
A symphony of shattered letters
A language hidden in her dreams
I go insane
Thinking about her
Why did she scream so I could hear
Her running away
From her silence.

Thank you for reading.

--

--