Captured

Poetry

Laura Weston
Rainbow Salad
1 min readAug 4, 2023

--

Photo credit: Canva

I don’t belong here…
Bathed in this artificial light
Of dazed and distant eyes

Overexposed orbs glow
Masked in the dead of night

I don’t belong here…
Bumping shoulders with
Everything I’m leaving behind

I don’t belong here…
In this rectangle-shaped world
Snapped, cropped, and framed

Crooked and blurry

Take one
Take two
Then ten

Don’t move this time
Take it again

I don’t belong here…
Captured and cursed
Standing by the exit
Alone

© Laura Weston 2023 All rights reserved.

Laura is a sensitive soul who believes in the healing power of writing. She writes as an act of self-care and to tap into a world that finds beauty in the subtle details, where we can invite the truths of our humanity to come to the surface and be seen.

Laura is an alcohol and emotional recovery life coach that helps people find freedom from alcohol and reconnect to the powerful messages found in their emotions.

--

--

Laura Weston
Rainbow Salad

Teacher, healer, writer, life coach. I find beauty and wonder in the written word. This is where I connect with myself and humanity to find peace 💖