Conan Gray Songs, Disasters in My Head, and Zombies in My Dreams

Poem

Mel Marakalala
Rainbow Salad
Nov 19, 2022

--

Conan Gray lying in a bed of roses and rose petals shaped into a heart. The cover of Conan Gray’s Super-ache album.
Conan Gray’s Superache album cover

I was up at 2 AM
Listening to Conan Gray songs
Wondering why my life was like
Every single one of them

When every song ended
I felt hopeless

I stayed up until 4 AM
Picturing disaster after disaster and chilling summers
Wondering why I was like
That when I could’ve just loved them

All those people that promised
Me happiness

I woke up at 2 PM
I was just chased by a group of zombies
Wondering what that dream meant
I was running from me or from them

The symbols are written
I just need to read a few

--

--

Mel Marakalala
Rainbow Salad

I am my mother's number 1 favourite writer, bringing to you my unique take on things: creative writing and poetry. © All Rights Reserved