Doubt

Lost in the wilderness

JS O’Keefe
Rainbow Salad
2 min readOct 23, 2023

--

Rodrigo Gonzales on Unsplash

“Ever wonder if the current societal breakdown is due to free-market globalization?”

“No, international trade has been beneficial to both the Third World and the rich Western nations.”

“In my opinion, it’s the age-old inequality between rich and poor, and that’s pretty much the same in every country. Those who work, barely make both ends meet, those who never worked a day in their lives, have all the wealth.”

“No, it’s something else. It’s a new phenomenom, not necessarily sinister or devised behind closed doors by the rich and powerful. It’s just developed on its own.”

“You’re onto something, buddy, it’s the nature of the beast. No one can swim against the current. It’s going to continue like this until it corrects itself.”

We’re discussing the disconcerting phenomenon that’s all over us worldwide, no place is an exception. Simply put, there’s no longer trust among people. I don’t contribute much to the conversation, only listen, but agree with the others, the situation is grave and getting worse. Anybody with eyes open can see it.

For example, consider my own circle. Heinzy, my hunting buddy and also my butcher, is the closest person to me. Still, I don’t fully trust him. He used to be missing three fingers, now four. Something is wrong; I just can’t put my finger on it.

Then Nick, another friend, tells me the answer to these complex questions must be at our fingertips.

***************************************************************************

A sketch of this article was published in Six Sentences on October 21, 2023.

--

--

JS O’Keefe
Rainbow Salad

JS O’Keefe is a scientist and fiction writer (Every Day Fiction, WENSUM, 101 Words, Spillwords, 50WS, ScribesMICRO, Medium, Paragraph, 6S, Satire, MMM, etc).