Enough

Kevin C. Grant
Rainbow Salad
Published in
1 min readOct 13, 2021

--

Photo by DK Dykstra-Lathrop on Unsplash

Life is adrift.

Then, you find her.

She’s here always,

like oxygen in the atmosphere.

With fleeting attention-

she cares to notice you only when you’ve lost your breath.

She operates on her own time-

coming early or coming late.

When she comes-

it’s with gusto.

Adorned in sequins, and draped in diamonds

as the queen of Irish goodbyes.

Her attention moves from lover to lover,

her gaze never in line with mine-

and then it was.

To know her intimately alters her heart.

I fill her.

She occupies my mind-

addicted to what used to be.

I hope she never leaves.

Though, I won’t be there.

I smile,

a mask for my desire for more that she sparked inside of me.

I fear I may lose it all.

Awake, having never really slept.

I fear.

Nevertheless waving goodbye,

sprinting for the door.

There is something more for us out there.

Maybe that will be enough.

I think of the times wandering with Apathy,

riding shotgun with Conformity.

We fell out of lust, unable to remain.

No time for nostalgia.

No regrets with ambition,

hoping for happiness,

just to feel.

--

--

Kevin C. Grant
Rainbow Salad

At the intersection of weird and wise… From where they make gumbo at to the city of Angels.