Poetry

Fear Of Flying And Dying

Overcoming your fears are the hardest thing in life to do

cindee D Renee
Rainbow Salad

--

Photo by louis magnotti on Unsplash

Birds have no fear

In a common place market of flight,

They soar in their world.

Gliding through the steel moon sky,

With no fear of the unknown.

If flight is all they’ve known,

The horizon is bird territory.

They float up from you and me.

Air planes are the safest mode,

My hubby airplane mechanic,

Says from his stops at Boeing.

He tells flight stories.

Still understanding my fear.

Of flights of yesteryear’s travels.

If I were a bird today,

Photo by Mehdi Sepehri on Unsplash

Talking to my flock in formation,

I wouldn’t fear anything.

Through vast circles in the sky,

I would never wonder why I fly?

Would the fear be gone,

The thrill gone away, like BB and his guitar- Faded away.

The flight of a dead bird,

Stops with one large drop.

I’d go insane-flying in a plane

Today. Yet. if I lived free

Like a bird, I’d be so fearless

Flying above the love of it all,

Coming down to take morsels from the ground.

I wouldn’t fear a blue sky paradise.

Will I finally overcome my fear

Of flight this year? doubt creeps.

Thank you for reading.

--

--