Lyrical Free Verse

Fuck It All, and Love

An ode to the word fuck

Ani Eldritch
Rainbow Salad

--

Andre Hunter took this photo of a woman looking down with her right hand in her hair.
Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

Fuck, I say to
the world with its
twisted iron grin,
jagged jaws of
concrete, biting
down dreams like
discarded gum.
This word slips
through my teeth
like venomous silk,
fuck the incessant
ticking of clocks
in subway stations,
the grinding gears
of time’s relentless
machine, fuck
the wind’s whisper
of forgotten voices,
echoing through
streets, alleys.
Fuck the city’s pulse,
the heart that beats
within me, I say,
fuck it all, and love.

Ani Eldritch 2024

--

--

Ani Eldritch
Rainbow Salad

I am a writer/poet and Gen Z New Yorker. My publication is The Dapper Owl. Jazz inspires me. Earl Grey tea and Thai food keep me going. Welcome.