Growing Out Of Your Love

Seasons change, people change, and so does destiny with time. When it is time to move on, one learns to grow out of love which used to be an integral part of the heart.

Meenakshi Malhotra
Rainbow Salad
2 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

Photo by Max Bender on Unsplash

Must it always be this way?
Change being the synonym for sacrifice
The coming of spring takes away the warmth of bonfires

I can relate this metamorphosis to phases of my life
when a fairytale movie turns into a mosaic of goodbyes.

Manifesting my nocturnal yearnings
where I see you on the crimson dawn,
confessing that you dominate my dreams.

Waiting for this emotional eclipse to pass
after which I wish to play, pause, repeat.
Every single moment spent with you
because you haunt me in the echoes.

This might look like a manifestation of madness.
When I try to catch the shadows of our memories
weaving a spider web of scars.
Taking the weight of your virtues and promises,
This river has merged into the ocean, for I am saltwater now…

I am standing beneath the snow moon.
The ghosts of winter don’t chase me now,
for they are a part of forgotten folklore.

Besides I am trying to revamp the ruins of us.
Our bond may be history now,
But I will behold it in somnolent silence.
In every single beat of my heart…….

--

--

Meenakshi Malhotra
Rainbow Salad

I have learnt to be in a happy space since I started penning down my perspective as a poet and a writer.