Her text

she’s in agony in some ER

Gretchen Brooks Nassar
Rainbow Salad
2 min readOct 14, 2023

--

Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

1200 miles from me

she’s in agony in some ER

too far to go

too far to know

she keeps her story

tightly wrapped in journal pages

while I recount to my friend

the text she sent

about pain unforgiving

and systems faltering

an encryption I seek

to decode

I call my Mom

and text my other sister

for answers

we’re all in the dark

when it comes to her

but she texts again

her pain can’t wait

her bowels twisted

and tainted by the chemo*

she’s ingested

she’s bloated, constipated,

belly burdened

held captive

her texts this time

speak of desperation and I sense

the miracle cures

may have ended

I feel hot tears

just beneath a blanket of grief

I feel an urgency too

to unravel the truth

of her incapacity

my sleep is so deep

the next morning

I struggle to crack my lids

what text awaits today?

will we ever know

just how bad it is?

will we be able to

make a difference?

emotional exhaustion

encases me

her life in jeopardy

weighs on me

I wait for the next text

and hope for another miracle

*we found out later her symptoms were not due to chemo, rather the cancer

This poem was written last fall, a year ago, when my sister was still alive and fighting stage 4 ovarian cancer. I miss her and wish another miracle had come. This poem is dedicated to her brave, unflinching spirit when she faced the ugliest of treatments and diseases.

If you or someone you love is grappling with cancer, I send you blessings of strength and care.

-Gretchen Brooks Nassar

--

--

Gretchen Brooks Nassar
Rainbow Salad

American poet, activist, mom, passionate about nature, music, & cats. Writer for Rainbow Salad and Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems.