How My Love Said “GOODBYE”

Garima Singh
Rainbow Salad
Published in
2 min readFeb 15, 2024
Image by <a href=”https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/silhouette-young-woman-home-with-window-shadows_12706998.htm#query=broken%20love%20aesthetic&position=24&from_view=search&track=ais&uuid=8427226e-7bda-4b28-a7a4-c5cd17625f43">Freepik</a>
Photo from “Freepik”

Hey,
Did you ever notice how my eyes admired you
While you walked away,
Telling me that,
“We are not meant to be”
Even in that moment,
I felt only love and love for you.
And when you looked back at me for the last time,
The chords that connected our hearts broke,
And my heart received one last message from yours
That you did not love me anymore.
I wanted to hold your hands again,
But I knew it won’t feel the same.
I wanted to hug you once more,
But I knew it’ll only feel cold.
I wanted to kiss you for the last time,
But I also knew this one would feel like
Your lips aren’t made for mine.
I am walking home now,
Trying to get myself together,
While my mind wonders the existence of “Forever”.
I know I will spend days missing you.
I know I won’t need these coffee mugs for two.
I know I will only search for you in these crowds,
And crave for you when the voices in my head get loud.
However, at the end of the day I will remember:
Two people in love never fall out of it,
Only to remind myself that
If we did, fall out of love,
The love wasn’t there in the first place.

--

--

Garima Singh
Rainbow Salad

Maybe like every other writer, I love spending time with my pen, paper and imagination.