I punched the woman who called my best friend fat. Part 1

A fictional memoir.

Vidhyadhari M
Rainbow Salad
6 min readNov 20, 2023

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

When I opened my front door and saw my best friend wearing her favorite pink pajamas, holding her favorite pink pillow and a duffle bag (of course it’s pink) out of which some of her clothes were peeking out, I was stunned for a second.

My best friend is a bit of a fire cracker with a drizzle of drama, always swirling into my life with no boundaries whatsoever like a buzzing bee.
A cute buzzing bee nevertheless.

So imagine my shock when I saw her in a dull shade with hunched shoulders like a gloomy sky before the storm.
Pushing me away, she dropped her belongings on the couch and I instinctively knew the direction she was going to go.
Towards the kitchen.
I suddenly remembered my favorite brownies in the fridge.
So, I slyly turned her towards the sitting area near the counter, gave her a cone of ice cream, closing the refrigerator she was about to open.

She hesitated for a moment before attacking the cone.
"I’m so fed up V.
WHY!? Why are people such demons. May be they are demons just dressed as people so they wouldn’t get caught!
Like that movie, Men in black. Yep! that sums it up"

Before I can ask her, what happened or who wound her screw to make her ramble like this;
She started again.

"Ugh! I’m so done that I want to punish myself.
Yeah, I’m just going to do that.
I don’t deserve my comfy bed, my nice room to day dream or my purple couch to lay like a log. May be I don’t deserve my home at all.
Yeah, from now, I’m sleeping on your bed and staying with you.
Yeah, that would be the right punishment for me"

"What!? No! You eat all my food, every time you visit and lay like a starfish everywhere.
I don’t think the punishment is for YOU, if you start living here"

Yep.
That did it for the dull gloomy clouds to break and pour out the rain. Her tears start rolling down her cheeks.

Feeling like garbage, I immediately hug her.
"I’m sorry, I didn’t mean it. I was just bantering with you. You know it, right? You can stay here as long as you want."

Wiping away her tears with the back of her hand, she huffed a laugh saying,
"I know V, I know..." and then she hugged me tightly.

Sensing something wrong, I pulled back a little to see into her eyes.
I mean really look at her; and when I did, I saw something more than sadness there.
Rage.
"now tell me what's wrong and who should I beat up?", I asked her.

Hesitatingly she met my eyes and started telling me about the 'she who shall not be named' - her roommate.

When she finished telling me all about the episode they had in their flat, I was fuming.
You can see the fumes coming right out of my ears. "How dare she! How dare she called my girl fat!.."

"Awww, you tsundere.
You see me as your girl?
So, you do care about me.
You know, you should show it sometimes in front of others, so that no one would come after 'your girl’, although I can hold myself perfectly well.
But you must stop with the villain era, poker face girl you show the world..."

Ignoring her babble I turn and rummage through my kitchen mumbling profanities at her roommate.
" ...that's it. I'm gonna hurt her. I'll get my tools."

Bee was behind me when I turned around.
Folding her hands in front of her chest, she asked me "watcha looking for?"

I grunted saying "I'm looking for my tools."

She smirked and said "You don't have any 'tools' honey boo"

Releasing a sigh and accepting my defeat, I walked towards her and hugged her again "you are perfect. You know that right?"

She stiffened a little before relaxing and hugged me back.
"I know tiger, that's why, when I left the house, I opened the door again and screamed at her — I'm curvy and I like it!"

I huff out a laugh at her F.R.I.E.N.D.S reference remark "you know, you and Joey would have been best friends in real life."

She pushed me away and holding my shoulders she looked straight into my eyes and said with the most serious look I've ever seen.
"me and him would have been more than friends if we had a chance to meet, if you know what I mean."

And then she did some weird thing with her face and eyes.

"What are you doing with your face?"

"I'm trying to wink" she said, doing that thing again.

I grabbed her by the shoulders and with a stern look I said, " please, for the love of god, never do that again."

"Oh hush! You're just jealous that I'll get to do it before you can ever learn it."

Little did she know that I already knew how to wink.

After some more petty bantering and venting, we cuddled in a cozy blanket, sipping hot coffee.

"You know Bee, it’s your house too. She’s not the only one paying the rent and she has no right to make you feel this uncomfortable and suffocated in your own place."

"She just made my insecurities rise up again. You know how my childhood was and what I had to face growing up as a big girl, but now...
I feel good about myself now. It's just that, people, sometimes don't think before they speak.

"They don't consider the other person's feelings and it made me mad today.
I've always been a good sport, took some sarcasm and jokes lightly and just brushed them off.
But today, for some reason I've had enough. May be my period is due or something"

My heart broke a little seeing how much she is enduring.
How she is still thinking that she's the wrong one in this situation?
I have no idea.

"I didn't know that you were this gullible to think that accepting insulting jokes makes you a good sport.
You always said you didn't like your roommate and I backed you up without asking questions but if I had known that this was the issue, you know I wouldn't have been staying calm."

"Yeah, I know. That's the reason I never said anything to you about her."

"If you stay calm to people who bully you intentionally or unintentionally, it just makes you a doormat and I thought you were better than that Bee.
Joking around and joking through insults are two different scenarios. You, my friend, are taking body shaming as a light joke in disguise of being a 'good sport' as you call yourself".

"Oooh! I've heard about this body shaming thing recently in the internet. I didn't dig deep into it or actually gave a thought or two about it but now, I think I get what the hype was all about. I saw a post or something about it when I was looking for some new accessories..."

She was trying to divert me. But to her despair, I'm not that credulous.
"Hmmm...."

She looked at me, narrowing her eyes "What are you thinking so hard making that goofy face?"

"I was just thinking, how to teach your roommate a life changing lesson."

"What are you planning V? You always get us in trouble when you make that goofy, little dexter in the lab face and that’s why I’m still sending Mrs.Smith cookies for the incident you’ve caused.”

“What! That little, cheating on her husband, evil woman! The one who steals my parking spot annnd candy from children when nobody’s looking! Why would you do that when she’s the one-…”

I eye her suspiciously and she starts squirming in her seat looking away.

--

--

Vidhyadhari M
Rainbow Salad

Hi there! I hope my writings bring a smile to your face or plant a positive thought in your mind. Ooh and I also write poetry. Just saying.