Poetry

If I Were You

Four friends free-versin’ — the wordsmith, the singer, the one who could turn anything into drums and the one with the ukulele.

Mahin
Rainbow Salad

--

Photo by Chris Lawton on Unsplash

If I were you,
I’d fly a kite.
I’d get on the roof
And dance all night.

I’d walk on the grass.
I’d swim in a lake.
I’d climb a mountain
And scream out my name.

I’d look at the birds
And wish to fly.
I’d flap my arms
And give it a try.

I’d lie on a field
And stare at the sky,
I’d try to find shapes
In the clouds floating by.

I’d chase butterflies
Till I’m spent,
I’d sit in the garden
And breathe in the scent.

When evening falls
I’d run to my house
I’d sit on the swing
And sing a song

When the stars start to sparkle
I’d count them all
But before I could finish
Night would fall.

I’d smile to myself
Thinking that
There are more of them than I could add.

If I were you
I’d fly a kite,
I’d get on the roof
And dance all night.

Thank you so much for reading. If my writing resonates with you, you can find more on my Medium Profile.

--

--

Mahin
Rainbow Salad

What: Brain dump of creativity. Why: Building a habit.