In the Arms of Nature

Kehinde Margret Makinde
Rainbow Salad
Published in
1 min readApr 19, 2024
Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

Description: A poem on the sense of awe and wonder towards nature— celebrating nature’s beauty, exploring the sense of awe and wonder experienced when immersed in the natural world, and touching on the healing power of that awe.

In Nature's arms,
I find awe’s spring inspiring,
under the hypnotic bind
of rustling leaves and chirping choir,
my heart brimming with divine fire.

I am in awe of every breath and thing,
cast from the essence of existence.
From the smallest ant to birds in transit,
by clusters of colourful feathers.

The world is made in mastered piece,
nature’s beauty plays in every eye.
Beyond skins of water, soil, air, and sky,
that captures my Cochlea, cerebral cortex, myocardium, sensory receptors.

In moments of stillness I am immersed,
in the wonders of life
like the blade, leaf, and curls.
Practitioners of science tell of awe’s healing, powering the darkest hour.

Like petals it opens me up,
heart and mind,
though, I am a neutrino,
to bring me joy, health, and gratitude too.

In awe, magic, and wonder,
there is a raw and rare draw,
for me the living true,
to become its greatest expression.

--

--

Kehinde Margret Makinde
Rainbow Salad

A complex soul, academic writer, and artist at heart with fine deem from distinct outlook; zeal's veer; and events to proof stir of gifts, love, and vision