Last Words

Reece Beckett
Rainbow Salad
Published in
Dec 10, 2021

--

Image taken and edited by the author.

Instinctual kicks,

I slice the word count and catch my finger tips.

That’s just the mood these days, crude set-ups

And blue lights upon my page. Postpone rage,

Rattle the cage, open the cell doors.

I’m not acting like it matters anymore.

My floor changes beneath me, it’s all change, just release me.

Have small change, please relieve me. Still at a young age

So forgive me. I keep it simple, I stick to the

Mapped out routines. Avoiding screens,

Write the words now and maybe later,

Figure out what they mean. It’s clean.

Wake up from disturbing dreams, my body leaning backwards

A prospective problem to my progress,

Each speech has my last words.

--

--

Reece Beckett
Rainbow Salad

Film/music critic and poet. New articles every Mon, Thurs & Sat. Poetry on Sundays! Contact: reecebeckett2002@gmail.com https://linktr.ee/reecebeckett