Life Getting in the Way of Writing. Again.

And a birthday limerick for Reece Beckett

Will Hull
Rainbow Salad

--

Photo by Marius GIRE on Unsplash

We writers all feel the pull of some literary mission
Then get side tracked by school, work or gutting a kitchen
“What’s on the screen?”
Or “that needs a clean”
Writing’s hard work, says me, moaning and bitchin’

So here I sit, not writing for fame or money
At least they’re words on a screen, neither useful nor funny
Comment or Freud
But it helps me avoid
Further procrastination and cleaning the dunny

But the point of this rhyme is a birthday howdy-do
From all of his friends and Medium crew
Powerful prose
Movies he knows
Which smells worse? This limerick or my loo?

So Happy Birthday, Reece, but now I should quit
I’ve lost my way in this limericking shit
What’s my Medium become
A writing bum
Fluff I could just post on Insta or Twit

--

--