Maybe a Love Story

— free verse

Waqas Ahmad
Rainbow Salad
2 min read2 hours ago

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Mesmerised by your eyes, I glow
in the midst of your presence.
Taken back by your touch,
is this lust or love on the fence?

Only natural beauty within,
we are the dire meaning of new.
Two flames beating,
meeting in the middle,
me & you.

Something sparkling inside,
I haven’t felt this for so long.
What is it I ponder on,
could you and I together, belong?

I don’t know, but I want to.
Finding something lovely in new.
I want to glow again,
I wish to be as one with you.

Maybe we’ll show up for love,
maybe we won’t.
Maybe it’s you,
knocking down my walls.
Maybe I let you,
maybe I don’t.

Only time will tell us
what the future will hold.
I’ll allow you in as long as I can,
but I won’t let my heart fold.

No, not this time.
There will be no heart to mend.
For love will have to find me,
for any heart, I will not bend.

That’s just the way it has to be,
I’m not breaking myself again.
Just show me your truths,
and I’ll show you mine.
Maybe a love story will begin.

In the end, whether our story unfolds into a lasting romance or drifts away with time, we’ll treasure this moment. In the glow of your eyes and the warmth of your touch, we’ve found something worth cherishing. Here, amidst our uncertainties and hopes, we’ll embrace the truth of what we share, knowing that every experience has its own beauty, and that perhaps, in this fleeting connection, we’ve found something truly meaningful.

--

--