Me when

A poem

Chris Taylor
Rainbow Salad
May 16, 2024

--

Photo by Alex Vámos on Unsplash

A sinkhole opens often in my throat,
A vacuum claiming it’s about to take my larynx,
To leave a place where beautiful things can grow,
Replace these unstable words
Of hate and love, out of control sentences,

Knowing my speech could be gone any second,
Speak words, nonsense, louder than I knew I could,
Get it all out before it dies, expecting, but,
My voice remains, keeps talking,
Me when, me, me when, me when, me, me,

Tears come with fearful speech but my tone is calm,
You didn’t ask, I’ll shut up now, no I won’t.
What penalty will I get today, bruises, sickness, cuts?
I could to smother myself with a pillow,
Maybe tear out my automatic tongue,
Stop talking, Dead.

--

--

Chris Taylor
Rainbow Salad

Creator of poetry working on healing. active on twitter @christayl0r_