My Poem Tryouts

My Cup Failed

A poem for sore hearts

Kay Writing2Success
Rainbow Salad

--

Photo by Jessica Lewis on Unsplash

In lights dark
In days hard
In seasons blue
I found you

At first for lust
A thirst for love
Became a quest
For easy rest

Over time though
Clarity to me came
Then to you a hero
I forthwith became

To care, to keep
To hold, to help
To be the only key
To your silent breath

A pleasure it was
More than a game
For purpose this once
I finally gained

But the monster lies
Just like sleeping dogs
And as time flies
Awake she slowly comes

Leviathan or Behemoth!
Lucifer or Asmodeus!
Delilah or Jezebel...
You brought me to my wit's end

I spent my all
I'd give you more
You drained the sop
From this my cup

And now my heart fails
As yet again I learn
No matter how hard I yearn
My cup always fails.

--

--

Kay Writing2Success
Rainbow Salad

Sharing what I learn on my journey to help budding writers