Pain

A free verse poem on chronic pain.

Daphsam
Rainbow Salad

--

I am sitting here at my desk
gazing out the window,
watching the shadows deepening
on the early autumn leaves,
my loyal dog companions sleeping on the floor beside me.
Looking peaceful and relaxed,
their soft snoozing a rhythmic beat
the only sound in the deafening silence,
unbeknownst to them,
there is a battle going on near them,
a battle to see who will win the ongoing war.

This battle is within me,
as I sit in my leather chair,
with the scent of dogs and hints of mint
from a old cup of tea
there is another scent in the air,
it is one of fear.

There are grenades blasting off along the edge of my heel,
flames are licking down the sides,
burning sensations creeping closer to the soul of my foot,
the only ceasefire is when I raise my foot,
trying to find relief from a battle that rages daily.

--

--

Daphsam
Rainbow Salad

Dedicated mother, loving wife, dog mom, watercolor artist, creative writer, full of ideas, with humor and whimsy.