Passion

Calen Feng
Rainbow Salad
Published in
1 min readSep 14, 2023
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

There are some times when everything goes wrong,
and nothing goes right.

What am I to do in those times?
Do I wilt and wither and wane?
Smile and smolder and seethe?
Do you see how the flickering fades?

I steel my scorched hands
and leave my ashes, a sweeping, brittle wing, an elegant scrawl across shifting planes

The tapping in the glass of my mind recedes, gently, gradually, like the ebbing waves of a lightless sky, a whisper of silent screams
The curling wind is a divine embrace, a whistle of life, a bringer of the new and the old
And the ember glows, and glows, and floods the parched desert
As lost lore returns.

A breath. A single drifting flower, a homing wisp.

Vices turned virtue, virtue turned dream
Resplendent.

Thank you for taking the time to read! I’m not great at writing poetry, but I have hope that one day I will be (after lots of practice!).

--

--

Calen Feng
Rainbow Salad

Aspiring Writer. Student. Not an expert, but I try. Let’s see how this goes!