Revenge

Asmi
Rainbow Salad
Published in
4 min readSep 15, 2023
Photo by Venti Views on Unsplash

Two of my friends Dipi and Divi ran to peek at a handsome guy from the other division. I was shocked to see the two poised girls running like a thirsty horse.

I asked Sani, “What is going on? Why they are unsettled?”

Sani said, “They both are after a boy.”

I said, “Then let’s go to class.”

During the lunch break, that guy was a hot topic for my friend’s discussion. The 8 girls' group chatted at a time and I didn’t have any idea, I felt I didn’t belong on earth. The feeling of being left out ran through my head.

I shouted, “Can anybody explain to me what is going on and who are we talking about?”

Soni let out, “We are talking about a very good-looking boy in our university.”

I asked, “Who?”

Dipi in excitement said, “You haven’t seen him, his name is Ataru”

I said, “Okay… show me next time when we encounter him.”

Divi said, “We are friends on social media, we do chat sometimes.”

I felt Divi was showing off in front of everyone and Dipi was jealous.

After a few days, Pirri, Soni and I were passing near a pond.

Soni shouted, “Look, look there he is! Ataru.”

I was startled by her sudden loud voice and also got angry about it.

I glanced at him, he was dressed in a parrot-green shirt and blue jeans. He was busy setting his hair while walking towards the pond. Naturally, he didn’t catch me staring at him.

I said, “Don’t shout! You can tell me everything calmly.”

I found him handsome but still, I didn’t have a good reputation for him. Honestly, I believed he was just a flirty guy who broke many hearts.

Soni said, “He has many followers and he is a model.”

Pirri said, “Leave him, he is out of our league, look at his biceps.”

I said, “It’s none of our business, let’s move quickly to the class.”

Ataru came near the pond and watched the fish. I didn’t peek at him but my ears were listening to his voice.

He purposefully crossed the pool and stood in our way pretending as if he was watching the fish.

We arrived inside the classroom

Soni pointing towards me said, “Ataru was looking at her”

Dipi and Divi stared at me shocked.

I said, “It’s not true. Don’t worry she is blabbing nonsense.”

Soni said, “He purposely stood in her way and glanced at her.”

I said, “I don’t think so, and I didn’t hit on him.”

Both poised girls were relieved as they thought I was going to compete with them over this guy.

Photo by Adrian "Rosco" Stef on Unsplash

I said, “Dipi you like him so I’m not going to entertain him even if he tries to hit on me.”

One fine day, we were eating snacks and chit-chatting.

Dipi said, “Your crush is following me on social media.”

I said, “Don’t accept it.”

Dipi said, “I already accepted him as a friend.”

I spoke, “Then don’t talk to him and ignore him.”

She said, “He is chatting with me daily, I can’t ignore him.”

I replied, “Okay. No problem you can unfollow him. He won’t understand it.”

She still refused to remove him from her friend list.

Pirri murmured in my ear, “I got to know your crush is hitting on Dipi.”

I was surged with emotion of anger and said while removing my phone from my pocket, “Either you unfollow my crush or I will accept Ataru’s request.”

Dipi screamed, “No, don’t accept him.”

I replied, “Do as I said.”

Anyhow, she refused me. She forced me to think about how my friend could be so selfish. She wanted to grab the attention of two guys and wail about it in front of me.

Furiously I accepted his request and added him as a friend.

Soni tried to console me, “Don’t accept him. Dipi will not feel good about it and I think Ataru has some feelings for you.”

I said, “ I will not talk to Ataru for her sake, even though we are now friends. But as revenge, I’m not going to spare Dipi and going to keep him on the friend list.”

An eye for an eye, like in the Bible.

Soni replied, “How it is possible? You guys will talk.”

I nodded, “No I won’t, I’m way better than Dipi. At least I won’t flirt!”

Soni had no words to speak, so she was mum.

While going home I told Pirri, “Look at everybody they are trying to tell me how I should not accept my friend’s crush but nobody thinks about me.”

Pirri said, “Don’t you see me? I’m supporting you.”

I said, “I’m not going to talk with Ataru, he is just part of my vengeance.”

Pirri said, “I don’t feel it is wrong, you are just reacting to an unpleasant situation.”

I laughed out loud, “ Thank god.”

I am thinking about why there is a need for revenge but I can’t wait for karma for the destruction of her life.

Photo by Omid Armin on Unsplash

In revenge and in love woman is more barbaric than man is.

FRIEDRICH NIETZSCHE

--

--

Asmi
Rainbow Salad

Dreamy Drama 💟 wild women 🤷‍♀️ Fantasy Fondness 😶‍🌫️ Seren Spirit 🪷