Sammie and Joey.

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad
Published in
1 min readMar 26, 2024
Photo by Matthew Smith on Unsplash

I loved spending time with my two closest friends, Sammie and Joey. We were inseparable, just like in those stories Grandma used to read me about friendship. We’d spend our days playing in the backyard until the sun dipped low, laughing and chasing each other around until our legs couldn’t carry us anymore. And when the day was done, we’d huddle up in the family garden. We were like three peas in a pod, me and my buddies.

But one fateful Saturday morning, everything changed. As my neighborhood buzzed with activity, families gathering for cookouts and get together, my heart broke when I realized I couldn’t find my best friends, Sammie and Joey. They were nowhere to be found. Outside, I noticed a group of kids gathered together, their whispers carrying a sense of dread. And then I saw them – Sammie and Joey, surrounded by unfamiliar faces. With tears in my eyes, the sight of my pet rabbits in the cooking pot only fueled my anger.

--

--

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad

I put my thoughts into words. Welcome to my inner thoughts!