Shine Your Eyes.

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2024
Photo by sheyi owolabi on Unsplash

Ikeja! Under bridge, all passengers!

Shouted the conductor, causing me to awake from my short nap. It’s a Saturday, and I’m on my way to Ikeja Computer Village to get a laptop for my school project. There’s a lot of chaos as people quickly get off, bumping into each other.

“Madam, don’t push me o! If you no wan see madness!” shouted a man wearing an orange round neck that says, ‘Jesus is Lord.’

“Nawa o,” I whisper to myself, waiting patiently for the chaos to subside before stepping off.

As I make my way towards Computer Village, roadside vendors display their wares, some urging me to buy, others following me with their products in tow.

On getting to Computer Village, a tall, dark guy in a Lakers jersey, crazy jeans, and Nike sneakers approaches me.

“Fine boy, how far? iPhone 13 Pro Max dey, original. If you wan swap your phone, I fit run am for you. Anything you want, just tell me. I go get am for you, fine boy,” he insists, placing his hand on my shoulder. “Oga, no worry,” I reply, briskly walking away, his shouts of “fine boy” fading behind me.

Ignoring the persistent vendor, I spot a complex with laptops and phones displayed on the signboard. Entering the complex, I approached the receptionist.

“Good afternoon. I want to buy a good laptop, not too expensive, just for a school project,” I explain.

“Welcome,” she responds with a smile, handing me a pamphlet showcasing their laptops. I quickly find one within my budget with impressive specifications. “This one,” I say, pointing at the picture.

The laptop is brought in, tested, and I’m instantly elated. With a grin on my face, I decide it’s time to pay. But as I open my cross bag, panic sets in; I can’t find my phone. Frantically searching, I call out my number to the receptionist. She calls, and to my shock, the guy from earlier answers, laughing. “Shine your eyes,” he mocks me before ending the call.

And then, everything goes black. I faint……….

--

--

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad

I put my thoughts into words. Welcome to my inner thoughts!