Telling Myself I’m Straight : Internalised Homophobia

Lisa Fouweather
Rainbow Salad
Published in
1 min readNov 9, 2023

--

Photo by Daniele Colucci on Unsplash

Like my skin colour

and my height,

my sexuality is something that I cannot change,

try as I might

(and, trust me, I have tried).

Crying myself to sleep at night

because

‘Why can’t I just be normal?’

(straight).

Forcing myself to go on dates

with men,

dressing all femme,

trying to turn myself into one of them

(straight).

Telling myself I’m she/her

even though, most days, I don’t feel like a woman at all.

Wishing that I could change my pronouns to they/them

but I can’t

because

I don’t even know why I can’t but

alas

here we are again,

having to pretend

that every time I see a pretty woman my whole body doesn’t feel like it’s going to transcend

into another universe —

heaven.

Women make me feel something

and when I’ve spent my whole life feeling nothing

that both excites me

and terrifies me

at the same time.

And so, in the end

it’s easier to just pretend

that I’m still

numb

(straight).

--

--

Lisa Fouweather
Rainbow Salad

23 yr old Indie Published Queer Writer @ portfolioofhope.com, Activist, & Political Poet, I write about the things that matter in a society gone wrong.