The Alleyway

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2023
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

“I need to catch the midnight train,"

I said in a hushed voice as I walked along the empty street. The darkness enveloped everything, and the only sound was the echo of my footsteps on the pavement. It was late at night, with no one in sight.

A shiver ran down my spine as I heard faint, unsettling footsteps behind me. Every time I turned to look, there was no one there, just the empty, desolate alley. My heart raced, and I quickened my pace, my heels clicking on the cobblestone path.

I felt a gentle tap on my shoulder, which sent shivers of terror through me, but when I spun around, there was still no one there. Panic surged within me, and I felt really terrified.

Suddenly, as if materializing from thin air, three menacing figures emerged in front of me. One of them gripped a gleaming knife in his hand, the blade glinting ominously.

My voice quivered as I tried to reason with them, pleading to be left unharmed.

"Please, take whatever you want," I stammered, trembling as I handed over my valuables, the fear in my eyes mirroring the terror coursing through my veins.

But then, the unimaginable unfolded before me. The man with the knife thrust it toward me, and pain seared through my chest. I gasped for breath as the world blurred into darkness.

Suddenly, I found myself back at the entrance of the same alleyway, as if trapped in a never-ending loop of terror. It was like a bizarre déjà vu, and the fear intensified as the events played out exactly as before.

The footsteps, the tap on my back, the demand for my valuables, and the agonizing pain of the knife plunged into me.

With each cycle, the horror deepened, and I couldn’t break free from the inexorable grip of fate.

The alleyway had become a cage , and I was trapped in a chilling mystery that seemed to have no end, reliving my terror over and over again, with no way to break free.

--

--

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad

I put my thoughts into words. Welcome to my inner thoughts!