The Blue Taxi

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad
Published in
3 min readAug 17, 2024
Photo by Nick Möllenbeck on Unsplash

“A serial killer has been terrorizing our town, murdering people for pleasure. He is often seen driving a blue taxi. Residents are advised to stay vigilant and avoid boarding any blue taxi. Stay safe.”

I stared at the TV screen in the bar, bad news seems to be the only thing on TV these days. When was the last time we heard something good. I sighed to myself, taking a sip of my beer as I waited for the heavy rain to ease up before heading home.

The rain had been relentless for days. I look out the window, watching the sheets of rain hammer against the pavement. This rain isn’t stopping anytime soon. I got up, pulled on my raincoat, and stepped outside. The cold, wet air greeted me as I lit a cigarette, inhaling deeply. I looked up and smiled, I could feel the rain hitting my face, I took one last drag before dropping the cigarette and crushing it under my boot. Then, I began walking down the empty road.

The street was empty. Just me, the rain and the distant rumble of thunder. I noticed a car approaching, its headlights piercing through the heavy downpour. I waved, hoping for a ride, but the car drove past me, splashing water all over me. “Bitch!” I cursed the driver, showing him the middle finger, knowing he couldn’t see me, but doing it anyway out of anger.

Another car appeared in the distance. This one slowed down and came to a stop in front of me. I approached and leaned toward the window.

“Queens Street,” I said.

“100 bucks,” the driver replied.

I opened the door and got into the backseat. As soon as I settled in, the radio came to life with a familiar announcement, it was the same warning I’d seen on TV just minutes ago. “Beware of the blue taxi,” the announcer repeated.

The driver glanced at me through the rearview mirror, “No need to fear sir. He’ll be apprehended soon enough”. He smiled in a mischievous way. I felt terrified immediately I met his gaze in the rearview mirror. That smile, something wasn’t right.

The realization hit me. This was the blue taxi. Damn it, the rain had hid the color, and I hadn’t noticed.

“Are you alright, sir?” the driver asked in a calm voice.

“Yeah, I’m fine,” I replied, trying to sound casual. “Just a hectic day.”

He nodded and turned his attention back to the road.

“We’re here,” the driver announced.

I reached into my wallet and handed him the 100 bucks. As I tried to open the door, it wouldn’t open.

“Hey, the door’s locked,” I said, my voice shaky.

“Locked?” The driver feigned surprise, his expression was sinister. I could feel my heart pounding in my chest. He unbuckled his seatbelt and opened his door, stepping out into the rain. The moment he opened the door to my side, I didn’t hesitate. In a swift motion, I pulled out my dagger and shoved it into his neck, stabbing him once and twice. I watched as life drained from his eyes as he fell to the ground.

I took the keys from his lifeless hand, got into the driver’s seat, and drove off into the night.

I’m the killer in the blue taxi.

--

--

Adeyewa Temiloluwa
Rainbow Salad

I put my thoughts into words. Welcome to my inner thoughts!