The Ego’s Gambit: Illusions of Power

Do you ever get tired of playing games?

s
Rainbow Salad
2 min readOct 11, 2023

--

Photo by Mireille Raad on Unsplash

~monopoly
I land on your properties for the sixth time, you say pay up
I pay you every cent I have left, you happily add them to your cup
The monopoly of give and take, but all I’ve been taught is to give
You take everything from me, but they say you need balance to live

~uno
Warfare begins as four colorful tribes prepare to fight
Acting so swiftly on Uno grounds, but nothing about it feels right
It’s you against me, now in battle when we both started on team blue
Stop dropping wild cards, I seriously don’t want to keep losing to you

~poker
The question remains: is everything as it seems?
Or is your true self simply concealed by conniving jokes and beams?
Master of bluffs, connoisseur of hidden deceit
Are we lying to each other? How doltish, we should accept defeat

~hide and seek
Let’s take a trip down memory lane, to when I was weaker
You be the hider, I’ll be the seeker
I searched all the crevices of this world for you, but I was unsuccessful
Every time I followed your laughs, you ran afar — surely, it was suspenseful

~hopscotch
We were two silhouettes confined into a few quantifiable boxes
Always terrified of getting too close, scared of contracting the poxes
As if I was a disease to be avoided, a number to be hopped over or skipped
I jumped out of the boxes, I pretended like I simply tripped

~life~
Oh, the game of Life, the one we both will always be losers at
Unresolved crises and conflicts even though we were always in combat
If only managing wealth was synonymous with purposeful living
Then, you wouldn’t feel the need to break rules, while I continue forgiving

--

--