The end of the world

A poem

Jessica M
Rainbow Salad
1 min readOct 13, 2023

--

Photo by Andy Holmes on Unsplash

Watch as the world falls,

As asteroids crumble from the earth,

There is beauty in the reunion between,

Life and death.

The closing symphony is fleeting,

Bursts of colours shattering,

against the starlit sky.

There is peace in the end,

Because this moment will always last,

A memory not held by any one thing,

But of simply what is.

I thought the struggle would be,

Similar to the sea striking against chalky cliffs,

To a volcano erupting,

But how could we ever say these were destructive,

If we created the words to describe them.

So I watch the world fall,

Everlasting in time,

A familiar song.

Of what is,

And what will always be.

Thank you for reading my poem. If you enjoyed my writing, I would be grateful if you could interact or if you’re interested I have written several other poems https://medium.com/@JessicakMoody

--

--

Jessica M
Rainbow Salad

Cat fosterer/ mental health advocate/ spiritual / creative / Autistic Expressing myself and my experiences through poetry /