The quest that ended

My quest, the place I’ll fill with only you

Lisu Mei
Rainbow Salad
2 min readJul 31, 2022

--

Photo by Matthew Kalapuch on Unsplash

Every moment spent with you is a treasure, I want to carve in my mind every second, and I want to refill myself of you. Every sweet word of you is worth a fortune, every hug, every caress, every smile. With you I’m immensely rich, without you I’m immensely empty.

So I want to keep my treasure far away from thieves, far away from oblivion, from anger, from sadness. Even far from other happy memories it could be, because it could only make them look like the saddest, totally outshone, simply vain. I need the purest place for the purest feelings.

So I start looking, wandering around inside myself. “What are you doing?” says a little girl in a paddling pool. “I’m on a quest” I answer. “What are you carrying?” she said coming towards me pointing at my beautiful golden box. But the sugar melts with the water, so I ran away. Sorry, you are so young, you would not understand.

So I keep looking, getting lost inside myself. “What are you doing?” says a girl sitting alone at a table stopping her drawing just to look at my diamond box. “I’m on a quest” I answer. “That is so pretty, what’s inside must be even better, let me draw it!” she said standing from her chair coming towards me. But how to draw this feeling? So I ran away. Sorry, any misinterpretation would steal part of its beauty.

So I kept looking, totally strayed inside myself. “What are you doing?” said a crying little girl, an angry teenager, and a shaking scared lady. “I’m on a quest”, I answered lifting my sapphire box. “What are your empty hands supposed to be lifting?” they said. But smiles are erased by tears and melodies silenced by shouts, so I ran away. Sorry, you are so blind to see the light.

So I kept looking and running. I didn’t know I kept so many things inside. I found this time what I had looked for but hadn’t found before. But sorry, you are not part of my quest, so go back to your place. I need to pace up and down even more before I’m done.

Then I found a door that attracted me to enter. There was no one inside, only pure whiteness, only pure emptiness. The answer to my quest, the place I’ll fill with only you. So I kneel and place your heart, then I sit and hold your hand. Now we close our eyes and disappear in this locked room.

Now that I’m back, I give you the only key so you can enter whenever you please.

--

--

Lisu Mei
Rainbow Salad

Poetry for the heart and soul to live the sun and the fun, and survive the dark and the cold