Unconvinced

Reece Beckett
Rainbow Salad
Published in
1 min readDec 15, 2021

--

A poem

Image taken by the author.

The sky is alight

With dreams that people sold

When they couldn’t feed themselves

Or their children

Thoughts spin in circles

Come in circles

I just don’t grow anymore

Unless you speak of growing tired

I’ve become a master there.

I point a camera at the world I see

And drain it of its colour,

I pass a thousand people every day

But never speak to any other

They claim to be my brothers

But when the time comes

They leave me lifeless, beneath covers.

Powerless and codependent

No defending my actions and reactions

I engage with most things when searching for distractions

Kept awake by blue lights, considered self didactic

I think I would be safer

If I were wrapped in plastic.

The words can’t free me, but I write them anyway

These people would leave me, so I turn them all away,

By now I can’t convince myself it’s worth it to stay

But I don’t have the bravery to change a thing

So I remain.

--

--

Reece Beckett
Rainbow Salad

Film/music critic and poet. New articles every Mon, Thurs & Sat. Poetry on Sundays! Contact: reecebeckett2002@gmail.com https://linktr.ee/reecebeckett