What if This is my Last Day on Earth?

Srujani Shrawne
Rainbow Salad
Published in
2 min readMar 1, 2024
Photo by Mathias Reding on Unsplash

Every morrow,
I look at the sparrow and ask myself, what if this is my last day on earth?
I close my eyes, and flashes of all things, places, and people dear appear.

For the wins,
For the things I thought I couldn’t, I feel proud.

For the defeats,
For the things I thought I could but couldn’t, I feel humbled.

For those I’ve hurt,
I reach out for forgiveness.

For those I’ve hurt but too late to amend,
I forgive myself for a human flaw.

For those who love(d) me,
For those who believed in me when I didn’t, I feel grateful.

For things I want to be,
I know I’m on the journey towards,
But I have no control over what the almighty plans on how far I am to go.

For I lived my life to the fullest, a living soul can,
I regret not my actions, for they’re the best I could.

Each morrow, the thought of death, I feel so sorrowful.
But a purpose to live each day with all my might,
Because when I finally close my eyes, I’d be at peace
That I experienced each emotion, followed my dreams, failed, won,
Surprised myself, and however flawed, lived my life with the best intentions.

And this peace gives me the drive to live life as if it’s the last day on earth.

--

--

Srujani Shrawne
Rainbow Salad

I am an inquisitive soul, curiously exploring different aspects of life and sharing my interpretation of the world through poetic verse