What Mark O’Brien Did

Steven E. Brown
Rainbow Salad
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

Hospital bed in a Home. Photo by Author.

I haven’t yet learned to

travel the world without

leaving my house:

Mark O’Brien did.

I’ve yet to discover how to

entice Hollywood with my

plays on words and poetry:

Mark O’Brien did.

I watched with

delight

Mark O’Brien on film

before the Oscars

widened his fame.

I read his poetry

watched

as he transformed

water into wine

wheels into wonders

lemons into lemonade.*

I never met the man. But my

life is better for his time

here.

Hear, hear,

to Mark O’Brien.

(July 6, 1999)

  • O’Brien and partner Susan Fernbach founded the small publishing house, the Lemonade Factory. Mark was the inspiration for the movie, “The Sessions.”

Steven E. Brown (Steve) lives in Arizona, where he usually delights in the sunny weather (though 110 is a bit much:). I’m a Chicago Cubs fan who spent time as a Bleacher Bum in the late 60s and early 70s. For most of my life, I’ve loved to travel and have been to 40+ states and several countries. Due to unforeseen circumstances (including but not limited to the Pandemic), my last travel was in 2018 to Chiang Mai, Thailand. I’m currently working on a book about Disability Culture. You can find more info about me at: http://www.stevenebrown.com/what-we-mean-by-disability-culture.html

--

--

Steven E. Brown
Rainbow Salad

Writing a long as I can recall: essays, poetry, some fiction. Focused on disability rights & disability culture for 40 years and recently on energy healing.