You, pretty sunflower

A love prose poem

Lisu Mei
Rainbow Salad
1 min readJul 20, 2022

--

Photo by Michelle Francisca Lee on Unsplash

I’ve seen you, pretty sunflower, you cannot hide it from me. I know how much you dress up when you know the sun is coming. You always wanting to get all his attention.

I’ve seen you, coquettish sunflower, you cannot lie to me. I know how long you just keep staring at the sun with no eye for anyone else. You always wanting him to look at you.

I’ve seen you, happy sunflower, you cannot cover it from me. I know why you revive and straighten yourself with your face looking up following the sun. You always wanting him to be closer.

I’ve seen you, dreamy sunflower, you cannot cheat on me. I know why you are so sad whenever the sun is out of your sight. You always wanting to bring him joy.

You and I really have to talk. We both happy, both dreamy. We both hiding, lying, covering and cheating with anyone but our suns. We both unable to control it. We both not wanting to control it.

--

--

Lisu Mei
Rainbow Salad

Poetry for the heart and soul to live the sun and the fun, and survive the dark and the cold