Your Love Keeps Me Sick

-poem

Dr. Waqas Ahmad
Rainbow Salad
2 min readJul 27, 2024

--

Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Your love keeps me sick,
a fever I can’t break,
a longing I can’t shake.

In the dead of night,
I wake,
drenched in the sweat of dreams,
where your touch lingers,
a phantom caress on my skin.

Your voice,
a melody haunting my mind,
replaying in endless loops,
a song of bittersweet sorrow.

Each day,
I carry the weight,
of your absence,
an ache in my bones,
a void in my soul.

I chase shadows,
fragments of you,
in crowded rooms and empty spaces,
hoping to catch a glimpse,
to feel the warmth of your presence.

But your love keeps me sick,
a poison in my veins,
a spell I can’t undo,
binding me to you.

I search for solace,
in fleeting moments,
a smile, a glance,
but they slip through my fingers,
like sand in the wind.

And so, I wander,
lost in the labyrinth of my heart,
where every path leads back to you,
every turn a reminder,
that your love keeps me sick.

I am a prisoner,
to this affliction,
a willing captive,
yearning for the cure,
yet fearing the day,
when the fever breaks,
and you are truly gone.

I hope this poem resonates with you and captures the essence of a love that, despite its beauty, inflicts a lingering ache and a poignant longing, reflecting the complexities of emotional entanglement.

--

--