Tea and Cigarettes

Vikrant Hatwalne
Poetry Under Cover
Published in
1 min readJul 23, 2018

She leans lazily against her chair.
And looks around, almost as if
she is doing the furniture a favour,
By being in the room.

As she cautiously sips the impatient tea,
my consciousness lingers on the rim of her cup.
And I wonder what’d be warmer,
The tea or her lips?

She speaks of some guy and some other guy
And I sense a pinprick somewhere inside me.
Something I can’t mention,
because emotions are bad and scary and always too soon.

I’m now surfing dangerously
on a steadily building wave of fuzzy feelings.
Making my way to the eye of a storm brewing in her teacup.

Later as she lights up a smoke,
My consciousness lingers again,
This time on the butt of her cigarette
And I wonder what’d kill me sooner,
The cigarette or the girl smoking it?

Image via pexels.com

--

--

Vikrant Hatwalne
Poetry Under Cover

I write about things that amuse me, and things that dont amuse at all.