Fear Fear

Ankita Chauhan
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2016
Photo Credit: Martin Wessely

I fear fear and get nowhere
I fear fear and I am lost
I thought I would have liked to wander
I had the zest to let go
but sitting in the hotel room
in a city once known, now only
a distant acquaintance
When I think I should rekindle the bonds
I think I should let her enter this room
with a broad smile on her face
as I remember her
and tell me with her hands in the air
what she’s been up to all this time
and may be she’ll see
my ravenous anguish, the continuous
hurdle race, that lies ahead
feigning a paranoia,
of something unknown and alien
lurking out there, taking hold of me
every second, every decision, every step

She will see my fear, and would cringe
at my cowardice, and so I stay in, in my limits,
in a territory marked safe,
out of which I dare not step
Fear lives in me, with my chest thumping,
my pupils dilated, afraid for life
every moment, facing an invisible strife
I fear fear and I never live
I fear fear and I don’t know
what all did I miss
I am lost in the fear
and the fear lost in me.

<11/03/2016>

If you liked this poem please share your love by clicking the below. Thank you!

--

--