4 Years

Greg McCain
Poets Unlimited
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2016

Four years and so much has
happened lives locations statuses have changed yet I close my eyes and once again we’re in the apartment down the street from your mom and
dad’s place on the floor on that rug which is bigger than the room that wonderful old rug given to you by a dear older woman who befriended you in a far away country you both not from there but you both made it your home for awhile you loved her so that you wanted to keep her name alive by naming your first child after her and you grieve deeply still at the passing of them both we kiss and we kiss I’m leaving the next day our tongues teasing the other’s we kiss I’m leaving the next day I know
in that moment we will be in each other’s lives forever
but I know in that moment that I’m leaving the next day
and I will never see you again four years and so much has
happened lives locations statuses have changed yet I close
my eyes and once again we’re kissing so many people pass
through our lives the majority forgotten just as we are forgotten
by them there’s nothing special about you or about me our lives like everyone else’s are loosely held tatters as we stumble toward the inevitable…

…but I close my eyes and we are kissing.

--

--

Greg McCain
Poets Unlimited

What you refuse to tear down eventually crumbles in on itself.