#9 // a most beautiful star, circa 1943.

mick
Poets Unlimited

--

you’re selfish to ask me
to find a better you
im selfish to say
a better you, isn’t you

suppose it makes sense
when you’re here, im there
when im here, you’re there
it’s the rhythm we chose
the language that we spoke

it was never ideal, was it?
no, even i know that
but it didn’t matter
because it was something
we could call, our own

#

you’re a fighter, and a rebel
i love that, even when
it’s towards and against
everything i am

but it’s no use
knowing that now
i pushed you away
not knowing it was me
i was denying

so what i tried to hide
only spilt-out even more
you saw what I was
you became afraid of my dark
you became afraid of me

#

you used to be
this picture in my head
a place i could visit
but now, i close my eyes
i cant see it anymore

so the story goes
my turn to be afraid
of what i can’t control

you’ll just be a passing thought
a fleeting memory
a promise, i couldn’t dare to keep

#

061815

--

--