Nine Thousand Miles

Arka Bani Maini
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readSep 1, 2019

Maybe goodbyes
were not meant for you and me

Now that we are at crossroads

Remember the night
you wanted to drive and
I let you take the wheel?

The radio was playing
a Bruce Springsteen song
that I can’t remember now

While you drove
effortlessly
as I held your hand
and we shifted gears
together

And just like that
we kept driving for
Nine thousand miles

You and I
down the highway
that lead us where dreams go wandering
in warm winter nights

And now here we are

Where the road forks
into untold stories

Maybe they will
meet again
Where rivers finally meet
before melting into the ocean

Or maybe they won't
Who knows

But let me get out
for a moment
I think I need a smoke
and a walk
down that unpaved road
into that unknown horizon

It’s dark now and
I can’t see very far

But it’s okay,
you know

Take the car now
And take care
You still remember how to drive, right?

--

--