a Gentle touch

Debbie Aruta-Watkins
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readOct 3, 2016
Nature by Pixabay

When he reached over and touched me,
I crumbled to ash on the inside.
Slowly I was slipping away to a pile of rubble,
hatred filled all the crevices of my mind.

Yearning to be his again, hiding my pain,
a gentle touch was all I wanted,
I was gone inside, emptied, hallow,
no more love remained.

When he reached over to touch me,
I slithered away in my mind.
He wanting to gather my rubble,
rebuild what once way, but nothing remained.

Smacked slowly over time,
beaten down my body, my love, my brain.
Words cut deeply causing more pain,
Slowly I was slipping, slipping away from this game.

What once was no longer residing in my heart,
what existed now, a shell, only pain.
How to let go of this hatred, how to know its enough,
time passed slowly if only in my head.

--

--