A month ago

Sébastien F. Dejean
Poets Unlimited
Published in
1 min readMay 31, 2019

a month ago, I thought in my wildest moments
that maybe I have found just the one.
you know, the intricate bubbly spirit
seemingly unattainable but yet existing?
he was right in front of my eyes
and I’ve become ecstatic.

my mind drifted in and out
his face reflecting throughout.
work, school, my existential dreads
phased out as an online meaningless thread.
it felt like bloom, “le grand soleil du matin”
a rush of sweet emotions that blossomed within.

but yesterday, he spoke
he said something he could never revoke.
the words deeply shook my yoke
that for a moment it all felt as a sick joke.
then no it was all real, I just couldn’t believe
it happened so fast, not enough time to breathe.

he mentioned distance
I was confused.
his tone evoked such eloquence
I got even more bemused.
what really went through your mind
is a mystery that I don’t even care to find.

no more I’ll hear your voice
I had nothing to say, no other choice.
deeply knowing that a month ago
I met you, it crept up fast, this desire
to just hold on and not let you go.
in the end, I should have loosened up the wire.

https://creativemarket.com/photos/abstract

--

--